TopLink Essentials - The Java Persistence API Implementation at GlassFish

New to GlassFish | Community Guidelines | Downloads | FAQ | How-Tos

Persistence Downloads | Persistence FAQ

This is the home page for TopLink Essentials, the Java Persistence API implementation at the GlassFish community.

Email discussions between users happen on persistence@glassfish.dev.java.net alias.

Persistence News

The big news for Java Persistence API implementation is that it is now released and is available for download as part of the Open Source Java EE 5 Application Server and standalone!

Page Contents

Java Persistence API


The majority of the GlassFish code is available under the Common Development and Distribution License (CDDL) v1.0  The following page contains details about the components in GlassFish and the licenses under which they are covered.

Java Persistence API implementation is based on code from TopLink(TM) contributed by Oracle.

The source code is located in several cvs modules:

Downloads of Java Persistence API implementation are available in the following bundles:

Persistence applications written to Java Persistence Specification uses entities as  lightweight persistent domain objects instead of Container-Managed Persistence (CMP) beans. Such entities can be inserted, deleted, or fetched from a database via the new persistence Java API that can be used either in a Java EE container or stand-alone with Java SE. An entity is defined by the entity class which can extend another entity class as well as a non-entity class. Entities can participate in polymorphic associations, and be subject to polymorphic queries. Persistent state of an entity can be represented either via JavaBeans style property accessors or via instance variables (though clients should never access state variables directly).

Check the detailed Entity Persistence page often for updates to examples, supported features, and known limitations. Persistence FAQ page contains answers to common questions and problems.

Unit/Acceptance Tests

Running the Quicklook tests is required for any changes. In addition to the Quicklook tests, the entity-persistence module has unit tests which need to pass prior to checking in any code. Basic tests for the entity-persistence module can be found in entity-persistence-tests module. We'll be making more tests available in GlassFish as soon as possible.

Supporting Documentation

This section contains pointers to useful documents and information about the Persistence technology in GlassFish.

Specifications:

General Information:

Detailed Entity Persistence page and a separate Java Persistence Example page contain examples, list of supported features, and known limitations.

Java EE 5 Tutorial has several chapters on use of Java Persistence API:

Oracle TopLink website is another source of useful information about the technology and use cases.

ToDo List

The ToDo list will be maintained using the Issue Tracker Task issue type. You can query Issue Tracker using the issue type Task in entity-persistence subcomponent or click here to check out the ToDo list.

You can also search for bugs, RFEs, and tasks reported in Issue Tracker against persistence subcomponents, or you can find the complete list here.

Developers

These are the current committers to TopLink Essentials:

Name Java.Net id
Andrei Ilitchev ailitche
Chris Delahunt chris_delahunt
Gordon Yorke gyorke
Guy Pelletier guypelletier
Jielin Leng jielin
Kyle Chen kylechen
Marina Vatkina mvatkina
Markus Fuchs mf125085
Michael Bouschen mb124283
Mitesh Meswani mm110999
Peter Krogh pkrogh
Rochelle Raccah raccah
Sahoo, aka Sanjeeb Kumar Sahoo ss141213
Tom Ware tware
Wonseok Kim guruwons